I Can Not Teach You How To Give Birth.

Lets talk about childbirth for a moment. I get asked a lot of pregnancy and childbirth questions on a pretty regular basis. Here is the one truth I can give you, I am not you and you are not me. There you go, all the wisdom that I have to give you condensed into one tiny sentence.

I am not you and you are not me.

I know it seems simple and that perhaps I am being flippant but in actuality there is a lot of truth going on in those 9 small words. All pregnant women share some basic similarities, true, but pregnancy and birth is very much in the details.

What is your medical history?
What is your over all health like?
How physically active are you?
How much education have you had about birth and your own body?
What kind of education did you receive?
Who and what were your influences that shaped your personal view on pregnancy and childbirth?
Have you been pregnant or given birth before?
How old are you?
What are your fears, dreams, hang ups?

The list could literally go on and on. If you ask a question I can try to give you the best advice I can from the information I have and my personal experience. Ultimately though your experience, your story, is going to be different from mine. That is just the way it is. Not only will each woman be different but even each birth for an individual woman will be different.

Despite this there is a lot to be said for the information and support women can and do get from fellow women on a similar path. We draw strength from stories that exemplify what we hope and wish ours will be. We receive comfort and community through stories that mirror our own. We learn from others mistakes and triumphs. I may not be able to teach you how to give birth, but I can tell you how I did.

From time to time the GMOMs may share one of our birth stories or write a post about our particular views surrounding pregnancy and childbirth. This is not to tell you what to do or how to think about those issues. It is simply our deepest hope that through our stories we can perhaps lend a voice to the childbirth community that will help aid you as you travel down your own path.

May your journey be a blessed one.

My son that was born into the hands of my amazing CNM (certified nurse midwife).
Drug free, no IV, no continuous fetal monitoring, no power pushing, no regrets. Just one example, among many, of the wonderful variety of births in our world.

Leave a Reply

