Yummy Monday: Artichoke Rotini (in 30 Minutes or Less!)

This recipe came to me in a dream — literally.  I was taking a nap one day a few years ago.  I was hungry and dinner was on my subconscious mind.  I was trying to figure out how to make dinner with the random things in my pantry (a grocery trip was overdue!); a sort of use-it-up pantry meal.  So somehow, I put this together in my dreaming head.  I woke up and made it, and it has become a family favorite!  And it’s so easy to make!  30 minutes or less from start to finish.  Like most of my recipes, this makes 8-12 servings.  It is also vegetarian, and can be made vegan by omitting the cheese.

You will need:

16 oz tri-color rotini (or similar pasta)

1 medium onion, diced

2 cans quartered artichoke hearts, drained

2 cans diced tomatoes, with juice

Old Bay seasoning

~1/2 Cup pine nuts, toasted

~1 Cup grated Asiago cheese (approx 4 oz)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

– Dice the onion and start it cooking in a big pot with some butter (or coconut oil)

– Put salted water on to boil for the pasta

– Cook onions until browned, sprinkle Old Bay liberally.  Stir.

– Add drained artichoke hearts, stir.  Sprinkle more Old Bay.  Cook for a few minutes.

– Add tomatoes (with juice), stir.

– Taste-test for spice strength. Add more Old Bay if desired.

– Let simmer until the pasta is finished cooking.

– Add drained pasta to the pot, stir gently.

– Add Asiago, fold in gently.

– Add pine nuts, stir.

You’re done!  Enjoy!  😀

~ Michelle

P.S. Please let me know if you try this, how your family likes it, and what (if anything) you did to tweak the recipe to your own preferences!  🙂

Leave a Reply

