Five Times and Back Again: A Journal of a Sixth Pregnancy (Vol. 4)

Last week I promised I’d write something about nursing while pregnant… I’m in this moment really floundering at coming up with anything positive about it!! It’s been one of those days where I’m tapped out, touched out, and done.. Logically I know there are MANY benefits to nursing while pregnant. It keeps your little one connected and tandem nursing is an AMAZING bonding experience. With as young as my Marah is still she really needs that and so do I as a parenting tool. What starts to happen, though, is your milk dries up inevitably (though not for every woman) and you go through a spurt of dry nursing. That’s the uncomfortable part. It doesn’t hurt necessarily (at least for me) but it sure makes my skin crawl at times. I’m sure that’s a biological thing as your body and brain make way for the new baby/life you will be sustaining.

Sage tuckered out from her 3rd birthday festivities.

When I nursed Sage through Marah’s pregnancy it was a pretty rough ride, her latch was ALWAYS horrid and while it normally didn’t bother me much at all while pregnant I had to set limits. She was old enough (just over 2) to understand that Mama needed some boundaries. She’s the only baby that I nightweaned, she’s the only one that I told that Mama’s boobies were tired like the sun and could only give her milkies when the sun was up (which actually led to waking at the crack of dawn for a few weeks), she’s also the only one (thus far) that nursed right up to her 4th birthday! (that’s when I gently said… okay, I think we’re done..)

Tandem nursing 3 year old Sage and newborn Marah

This time around I was really quite worried about going through the same hell I went through last time but was pleasantly surprised when I made it through the first trimester and I still had abundant milk. If Marah had anything going for her it was her MOST beautiful latch, it really kept things flowing… sadly though eventually hormones take over and there’s not much you can do about it. There’s no herb, supplement, food in the world that will keep an abundant supply while pregnant. Eventually it will dry up and then comes the dry nursing. EEK!

Sleepy baby

I’ve been trying to capture more pictures of nursing Marah because when I look at them, it makes me feel/see the good parts and removes the negative emotions I have associated with the dry nursing. She looks like a beautifully contented, sweet baby girl and I truly can’t wait to nurse her and another sweet little one.  I’ve been so grateful that I’ve had other women in my life to share my experiences with who have shared the good and not so good of nursing while pregnant and tandem nursing. It’s not an easy ride but it is TOTALLY worth it in the end… I remind myself to take it one day at a time and try not to think too far ahead with it. It’s easier mentally that way.

Sweet little nursling, 24 weeks pregnant nursing 17 mos old

5 thoughts on “Five Times and Back Again: A Journal of a Sixth Pregnancy (Vol. 4)

  1. Thank you for sharing and I love the pictures. I really need to take nursing pics, I have none! I appreciate hearing your experience in nursing while pregnant and tandum nursing because I feel so alone nursing while pregnant. My doctor (who I love) said I am the first patient of his to nurse while pregnant and he has only read and studied it (he is also a new lactation consultant). Thankfully, he supports me. I am now nearly 31 weeks pregnant and nursing a 17 month old. For me, I am miserable. It hurts badly and I feel like I just want to scream and run away from it. It makes me have a icky feeling. I have tried (kinda) to wean, but it didn’t work and I feel bad cutting her off. So, we are still nursing. I don’t want to tandum nurse, but I suspect that I will for a while. I try to focus on the bond it creates, our cuddle time, and the benefits of nursing. That is what helps me get through the icky feeling. I know that before long, this stage will be over and I will miss our nursing sessions. I try to cherish this time together and snuggle together. There are times that I do say no because it hurts to bad, but thankfully Juliet doesn’t mind and will wait until later to give me a break. Anyways, thank you SO much for this post and sharing your experiences. It means so much to me. {{hugs}}

    • ♥ I’m so glad it was helpful for you, Amber. I know when I was pregnant with Marah and nursing Sage it was definitely beneficial to talk to other moms who had been there done that in this regard. It’s not something that is prevalent in our society (at least publicly) and so not a lot is shared about the discomforts of nursing while pregnant. I’m often envious of the women who experience very little disruption while pregnant… I wish I was one of them.

      I did not tandem nurse for very long (maybe 8 months?) and I had some very clear set boundaries for Sage’s nursing. I did not typically nurse them together because the 2 of them latching on was crazy sauce. I couldn’t handle it… not a bit. What was really awesome was in the early days when I had a crazy oversupply I could wake Sage up to nurse it all away and relieve my discomfort. Definite pros and cons. I feel good that I nursed Sage until her 4th birthday… she still occasionally asks but I tell her she’s big now and likely has forgotten how to nurse. (she had forgotten how just before we quit) And she seems to accept that alright. You can always message me on FB if you want to hash over other experiences. I’m more than willing to talk and share about mine! 🙂

      • I really appreciate your experiences and I know I will go to you for advice on tandem nursing when I am in the trenches of it. My goal has been to nurse Juliet for at least 2 years and Caleb will be born when Juliet is 19 months old. So, as long as I can handle it, I will tandem nurse at least for a while. Way to go on nursing Sage until age 4!! That is awesome!! I nursed Katie until she turned 3. My goal is always between 2-3 years. Anyways, I am sure I will talk to you on facebook more about this topic in the upcoming months. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

