I Remember: Their First Song

Our twins were in the NICU for three long weeks and 6 days. During that time they heard not a single sound other than that of the machines and the general chatter of hospital life. Our voices, my husband’s and mine, were frequently punctuated into their lives but never did they hear music.

Don’t let that smile fool you, I was terrified.

On the day they were released from the hospital we carried them down to the front lobby and I waited there with my tiny little new men waiting for my husband to bring the car around. Both boys began to cry while I waited and a mild panic started to set in. I was already so frightened about bringing these beautiful and fragile new humans home after such a long time of uncertainty. I was filled with so many contrasting emotions and their crying was about to break me. All the while strangers walked by staring awkwardly at me and my boys as I struggled to hold back my own tears.

Then around the corner came the most unusual sight. It was a rather large group of young men and women dressed in black pants and white shirts and in each ones arms they held an instrument. As one they all took their places mere feet from us and began to play Pachelbel’s Canon in D Major. Instantly the twins stopped crying their eyes wide with the oddest expressions on their faces. I have never before seen such a look of awe from eyes so young. I clung to that moment over the next few weeks. That singular moment in time ,when thanks to the kindness of strangers, I felt for the first time that everything was going to be alright.  I have no idea why they were there or who they were but I will always be grateful to them for making that music, that glorious, magical, amazing music my sons’ very first song.

How about you, what was your little ones first song? Is there a song you wish could have been their first? Or one that you plan on being your next child’s?

6 thoughts on “I Remember: Their First Song

  1. What a precious moment, and a great first song. Fae’s first song was Ravel’s “Introduction et Allegro.” My husband had made a couple long playlists for the birth and afterwards. One was all of our wedding music (our favorite 60’s and 70’s songs) and the other was our favorite classical pieces (from mainly Ravel and Debussy). This piece was the first on the playlist, and I’ll never forget that adorable little expression that she made.

    • It’s truly wonderful to see how deeply it effects such small ones. Thank you for sharing your story and I LOVE that you played your wedding music during labor what a wonderful, and touching, idea. ❤

  2. I also had twin boys in the NICU for 3 weeks. Every day I listened to the same song until they came home and still today listening to it can make me cry. It is an unusual pick for newborn babies but it helped me through a very difficult time being apart from them. So whenever I hear “only exception” by Paramore I am instantally taken back to the days of going to the hospital to hold my precious babies. I can still smell that hospital smell and hear the monitors beep and go off. I love music and I am thankful my boys love it too 🙂

    • I can so relate to your response Sherry. It is so strange how easily you can be transported back to that experience. Just a sound, a smell, a texture and then suddenly there you are again. Thank you for sharing your story. : )

Leave a Reply

