Flats and Handwash Challange, Day 3: How I Use My Flats

I am taking part in the Second Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry.  For 7 days I will be using only flat cloth diapers and handwashing them in an effort to prove that cloth diapering can be affordable and accessible to all.  You can learn more about the rules and why this challenge was started by visiting the announcement post.  This year there are over 450 participants from all over the world! 

So as you may know (from yesterday’s post), I am using (rather crudely) homemade cotton flannel swaddling blankets as my flat diapers.  And, in yesterday’s post, I pretty much told you how I am using them.  But let’s take a closer look:

*This is one method of using the blanket-diapers.  I have to tweak the method depending on the blanket because they are inconsistently sized.*

I have a large square of fabric.  I fold it into quarters, placing it with the edges at the top and one side.

I fold the front corners over so that the wings in back are still at full length(/width?) and the front corners touch the other side at an angle.

I lay the baby on it, and fold the front flap up between her legs.

I gather the sides so that they overlap in the middle, and pinch the flap and wings together between my fingers and thumb.

I use the other hand to put my super awesome, super sharp, locking diaper pin in (I have been holding it in my mouth this whole time).  I secure the pin, through all three sections (12 layers of flannel), and voila!

I pull the wool soaker over it all and we’re done.  🙂

Easy-peasy!

*Click the link below to see how other participants are using their flats*

9 thoughts on “Flats and Handwash Challange, Day 3: How I Use My Flats

  1. I love how you have them large enough to single pin! I never thought about that…my kiddo pulls off his snappi’s but I’ve been nervous to try pinning, but with only one the odds of sticking him are cut in half ^__^

  2. I love your super sharp pin. I used to use pins but I could never find ones that worked, and I’m not fond of snappis. I started just pad folding, but with my new little one getting here soon I might have to try different folds! I’m going to check out those pins!

Leave a Reply

